Home   :   Contact Us   :   Site Map  :Search  :हिन्दी  Facebook Twitter

New Page 1
About Us
  About Us
  Conservation and Preservation
  Epigraphical Studies
  Central Antiquity Collection
  Central Antiquity Collection
  Central Archaeological Library
  Underwater Archaeology
  Activities Abroad
  Photo Gallery
  RTI Act
Home > Museums  >  

Taj Museum, Agra Archaeological Museum, Aihole, District Bagalkot, Karnataka Archaeological Museum, Amaravati, District Guntur, Andhra Pradesh The Archaeological Museum, Badami, District Bagalkot, Karnataka The Archaeological Musuem, Gol Gumbaz Complex, District Bijapur, Karnataka Archaeological Museum, Bodhgaya, District Gaya, Bihar Archaeological Museum, Chandragiri, District Chittoor, Andhra Pradesh Archaeological Museum, Chanderi, Madhya Pradesh Fort Museum, St. George, Chennai Deeg Museum, Rajasthan Indian War Memorial Museum, Mumtaz Mahal Museum, Archaeological Museum Purana Qila, Salimgarh Fort Museum, Swatantrata Sangram Sanghralaya Archaeological Museum, Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh Archaeological Museum, Halebid, District Hassan, Karnataka Archaeological Museum, Hampi, District Bellary, Karnataka Archaeolgical Museum, Jageshwar, District Almora, Uttaranchal Archaeological Museum, Kalibangan, District Hanumangarh, Rajasthan The Archaeological Museum, Khajuraho, Madhya Pradesh Koch Bihar Palace Museum, West Bengal Mattanchery Palace Museum, Kochi, Kerala Archaeological Museum. Kondapur, Andhra Pradesh 1857 Memorial Museum, Residency, Lucknow, District Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh Archaeological Museum, Lothal, District Ahmedabad, Gujarat Hazarduari Palace Museum, Murshidabad, West Bengal Archaeological Museum, Nagarjunakonda, District Guntur, Andhra Pradesh The Archaeological Museum, Nalanda, District Nalanda, Bihar The Archaeological Museum, Old Goa, District South Goa, Goa Archaeological Museum, Ratnagiri, District Jajpur, Orissa Archaeological Museum, Ropar, Punjab Archaeological Museum, Sarnath, District Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh Archaeological Museum, Sanchi, Madhya Pradesh The Archaeological Site Museum, Sri Suryapahar, District Goalpara, Assam Tipu Sultan Museum, Srirangapatna, District Mandiya, Karnataka Archaeological Museum, Tamluk, West Bengal Archaeological Museum, Konarak, District Puri, Orissa Archaeological Museum, Thanesar Archaeological Museum, Vaishali, District Vaishali, Bihar Archaeological Museum, Vikramshila, District Bhagalpur, Bihar

The concept of museums in India may be traced back to the historic times, in which references to the chitrasala (picture gallery) do occur. However, in India the museum movement post-dates the similar developments that occurred in Europe.

The earliest necessity to house objects of antiquarian remains dates back to late 1796 AD when the Asiatic Society of Bengal felt the need to house the enormous collection of archaeological, ethnological, geological, zoological pursuits. However, the first museum by them was started in 1814. The nucleus of this Asiatic Society Museum later provided to the Indian Museum, Calcutta.
In Archaeological Survey of India also, due to the various explorative investigations that was initiated since the times of its first Director General, Alexander Cunningham, vast quantity of antiquarian remains were collected. The creation of site museums had to wait until the arrival of Sir John Marshall, who initiated the founding of the local museums like Sarnath (1904), Agra (1906), Ajmer (1908), Delhi Fort (1909), Bijapur (1912), Nalanda (1917) and Sanchi (1919).
The concept of site museums is well elucidated by Hargreaves, one of the former Director Generals of ASI:

‘it has been the policy of the Government of India to keep the small and movable antiquities, recovered from the ancient sites, in close association with the remains to which they belong, so that hey may be studied amid their natural surroundings and not lose focus by being transported’.A separate Museums Branch in ASI was created in 1946 by Mortimer Wheeler. After the independence, there was a spurt in the growth of site museums in ASI. At present there are 44 site museums under the control of ASI.

Photography/Filming Policy for the Archaeological site Museums of the Archaeolgical Survey of India

Exhibition Kesa-vinyas_Brochure (English)

Exhibition Kesa-vinyas_Brochure (Hindi)

Northern Region Museum
Southern Region Museum
Eastern Region Museum
Western Region Museum

  • Taj Museum, Taj Mahal,Agra
  • Archaeological Museum,          Aihole
  • Archaeological Museum,          Amaravati
  • The Archaeological          Museum, Badami
  • The Archaeological          Musuem, Gol Gumbaz          Complex,Bijapur
  • Archaeological Museum,          Bodhgaya
  • Archaeological Museum,     Chandragiri
  • Archaeological Museum,    Chanderi
  • Fort St. George     (Chennai)
  • Deeg Museum    (Rajasthan)
  • Indian War Memorial     Museum,Delhi
  • Mumtaz Mahal     Museum,Delhi
  • Archaeological     Museum,   Purana     Qila,Delhi
  • Swatantrata Senani     Museum,Delhi
  • Swatantrata Sangram    Sanghralaya,Delhi
  • Archaeological Museum,          Gwalior
  • Archaeological Museum,          Halebid
  • Archaeological Museum,          Hampi
  • Archaeolgical Museum,          Jageshwar
  • Archaeological Museum,          Kalibangan
  • Archaeological Museum,          Kangra
  • The Archaeological          Museum, Khajuraho
  • Koch Bihar Palace          Museum,West Bengal Bihar
  • Kochi - Mattancherry Palace       Museum
  • Archaeological Museum,          Konarak
  • Archaeological Museum.          Kondapur
  • 1857 Memorial Museum,          Residency, Lucknow
  • Archaeological Museum,          Lothal
  • Hazarduari Palace Museum,       Murshidabad
  • Archaeological Museum,          Nagarjunakonda
  • The Archaeological          Museum, Nalanda
  • The Archaeological          Museum, Old Goa
  • Archaeological Museum,          Ratnagiri
  • Archaeological Museum,          Ropar
  • Archaeological Museum,          Sarnath
  • Archaeological Museum,          Sanchi
  • Sri The Archaeological Site       Museum, Sri Suryapahar
  • Tipu Sultan Museum,          Srirangapatna
  • Archaeological Museum,          Tamluk
  • Archaeological Museum,          Thanesar
  • Archaeological Museum,          Vaishali
  • Archaeological Museum,          Vikramshila



    Dr. Urmila Sant

    Office Phone No. :

    Email :
    About Us
    National Culture Fund  |  FAQ   |  Contact Us   |  Feedback  |  Fellowship   |  Related links    |   Tenders   |  Jobs  | New Orders   |   Notifications & Minutes  |  Disclaimer
    Copyright © 2011 Archaeological Survey of India, Government of India