Home   :   Contact Us   :   Site Map  :Search  :हिन्दी  Facebook Twitter

New Page 1
About Us
  About Us
  Conservation and Preservation
  Epigraphical Studies
  Central Antiquity Collection
  Central Antiquity Collection
  Central Archaeological Library
  Underwater Archaeology
  Activities Abroad
  Photo Gallery
  RTI Act
Home > Monuments  > Ticketed MonumentsAssam > Vishnudol, Joysagar
Ticketed Monuments - Assam

Vishnudol, Joysagar

The temple is popularly known as the Kesavanarayan or Joydol Temple (Lat. 2658 N Long. 94 41′ E). It was built during the reign of Ahom king Rudra Singha (AD 1696-14) and dedicated to Lord Vishnu. It stands on the eastern extremity of the northern bank of the Joysagar tank which was excavated in memory of his mother Joymati. The temple proper has an octagonal Garbhagriha or sanctum sanctorum adorned by a dome like structure and decorated with honey- comb designs and lotus medallions. The external walls of the main temple are also beautifully decorated with stone plaques richly carved with figures of various Brahmanical divinities including incarnation forms of Vishnu. On the western side a square mandapa is provided. It connected the main sanctum through an antarala or vestibule.

A small brick structure adjacent to the main sanctum was meant for kitchen house or bhog-ghar. There are two small temples lying behind the main shrine and are known as Surya and Ganesha temple respectively. 

Timings of visit: sunrise to sunset

Entrance fee: Citizens of India and visitors of SAARC (Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Maldives and Afghanistan) and BIMSTEC Countries (Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Myanmar) - Rs. 15 per head & Foreigner: Rs.200/-

(Free entry for children below the age of 15)


World Heritage Sites
Ticketed Monuments
Alphabetical List



Know about

Guwahati Circle






About Us
National Culture Fund  |  FAQ   |  Contact Us   |  Feedback  |  Fellowship   |  Related links    |   Tenders   |  Jobs  | New Orders   |   Notifications & Minutes  |  Disclaimer
Copyright © 2011 Archaeological Survey of India, Government of India