Ahom Raja's Palace, Gargaon
Garhgoan (Lat. 26°58’ N Long. 94° 41′ E) was the principal seat of the Ahoms for more than four centuries. The chronicle sources refer that Suklengmung, the 15th Ahom king established the capital at Garhgoan and constructed a palace with wood and other impermanent material in the year 1540 AD. Later, king Pramatta Singha constructed a brick wall and masonry gateway in the capital complex. The present multistoried edifice was built by king Rajeswar Singha in 1752 AD. The fort and the royal complex were badly damaged and disfigured due to procurement of raw materials for building from the monument. The structural remains in the fortified complex stand as a mute testimony of the Ahom kings of the bygone days.
The monument is four- storied building and arranged in gradually receding tiers. The top floor has dome like roof with a chamber. It had four watch towers originally of which now only two can be seen. The ground floor has three west facing halls and provided with a front and rear chamber.
Timings of visit: sunrise to sunset
Entrance fee: Citizens of India and visitors of SAARC (Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, Maldives and Afghanistan) and BIMSTEC Countries (Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Myanmar) - Rs. 15 per head.
& Foreigner: Rs.200/-
(Free entry for children below the age of 15)